1914-15 Star

1914-15 Star for service between 5th August 1914 to 31st December 1915

The star was authorized in 1918 and was awarded to those who saw service between 5th August 1914 and 31st December 1915. Those eligible for the 1914 Star were not eligible for the 1914-15 Star.

Naval personnel qualifying for the Star consisted of officers and men of the Royal Navy, Royal Marines, Royal Naval Reserve, Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve, Royal Naval Air Service, Indian and Dominion forces who were mobilised and served at sea or served on land within a theatre of war within the above dates. Also to members of the RNAS employed in flying from naval air stations on overseas patrols. Also to Mercantile Marine personnel serving under special naval engagements and canteen staff employed on naval warships at sea within the approved dates.

Army personnel eligible consisted of officers and men of British, Dominion, Indian and Colonial forces and medical personnel serving in military hospitals within a theatre of war within the above dates.

Theatres of War

  • West European
  • East European
  • Egyptian
  • African
  • Asiatic
  • Pacific

The 1914-15 Star was not awarded for service which qualified for the Africa General Service Medal or the Sudan Medal 1910. Recipients of the 1914-15 Star always received the British War Medal and Victory Medal.

Approximately 2,366,000 stars were issued (283,500 to the Royal Navy and 71,500 to Canadian units)

A ‘Gallipoli Star’ was at one time proposed and although the medal was cancelled in favour of the more general 1914-15 Star, ribbon for the award was produced. Ribbon for the proposed Gallipoli Star consisted of equal bands of yellow, blue and grey with a stripe either side of the blue.

%d bloggers like this: